Tetris Newbie Questions

Thread in 'Discussion' started by CG1, 6 Jan 2024.

1. CG1

CG1

Hi fellows,

I recently read the article about Willis Gibson and Tetris and thought I would give it a try. I am completely new to Tetris! After doing some research I realized the 1989 NES Tetris is now difficult to play due to aging equipment, etc.

I notice that Nintendo has the Switch System OLED with TGM1 & 2. I presume TGM3 will be released in the future?

I was thinking that if I bought the Switch System and download TGM1&2, I might have a good Tetris system. In addition, I notice there are a few controllers that can be used for the Switch System! I do not know, which controller would be best for Tetris.

My newbie questions to you Tetris experts are as follows:

1. What is the best hardware system to buy to play Tetris in 2024?

2. What controller do you recommend for the Tetris system?

3. Which Tetris game should I buy to play on the system?

Thank you in advance for helping out a Tetris newbie :)

CG1

2. Hi CG1, welcome to the community. :) Sorry for the delayed response, things have slowed down a bit on the forums. I'll try to briefly outline my thoughts on these questions. I've also included some links to various Discord chats where the community is more active as of late. (We're still trying to write info in publicly-searchable text resources like these forums or the wikis, of course, but I can't deny that Discord chat is the fastest-moving way to get answers as of late.)

Overall round-up for question #1: If your goal is to experience the most Tetris on a single console purchase, then on those merits the Nintendo Switch might have the edge. Tetris Effect Connected, TGM1 and TGM2, Puyo Puyo Tetris, Nintendo Switch Online subscription for Tetris 99 and GB Tetris. The Switch even has a port of one of the Japanese cellphone titles!