Shmupmame Configuration Help

Thread in 'Discussion' started by KingEurope, 27 Jan 2015.

1. I'm sorry to be yet another complete newbie with stupid questions, after all the new interest in TGM I assume you all must be pretty tired of it...

I really want to start TGM1 since KevinDDR mentioned on his stream that it's the best to start off with (since GM can apparantly be accomplished by anyone who puts in a year of two of frequent practice). The problem is, I can't get it to run, because I'm a moron.

I understand I should be using Shmupmame (downloaded from TetrisConcept), and I have the ROM and the CPZN1 and 2 BIOs in the same ROM video as the zipped TGM1 ROM. For some reason which is probably really obvious, but completely above me, it just won't work. It says the TGM1 files are incomplete (regardless of where I download the rom, zipped or unzipped.

Likewise, when I try the normal, bog-standard Mame from Mame-Dev's website directly I get the exact same problem.

2. There is one thing other thing I can think of -- it's possible the expected naming or contents of the ROM zip have changed in a more recent version. ShmupmameTGM was built against MAME .137, whereas .157 is the latest version. They do occasionally change how things are expected to be structured in the ZIP -- sometimes because there is a better dump, or new files for previously undumped chips, or... sometimes just because they didn't like the naming standard used before, I don't know.

You could possibly rename things to match the current layout/naming standard if it differs -- I think there are tools for migrating files from/to particular versions of MAME? Though, I haven't used any. -- but it might just be easier to just find a copy of the ROM for an older version of MAME.

EDIT: I do think the file names have changed since then. That's what I would try.