Good progress?

Thread in 'Discussion' started by myl35t0n3, 22 Oct 2011.

1. Hey, I'm myl35t0n3. I've been playing Tetris every day for 1 1/2 months now. How much progress should I have made by now? My Marathon record in 250k points at level 10, I can clear 40 lines in 2:29:94, I can do T-spins, I play quite fast, and I play Tetrisfriends' Marathon, PS3 Tetris, and LockJaw. Am I making good progress? If not, what do I need to learn?

2. That depends on what your goals are.

3. I don't remember anything about where I was after 1 1/2 months of play, so I won't be able to help you there. :) I'd just keep playing for now and see where that takes you. If you're aiming for a specific goal, we can certainly give tips on how to tackle that particular area.

4. My goals are less than a minute on 40 Lines, and to be able to beat Marathon mainly.

5. Do you rotate in both directions? If not, that's the first thing I'd work on.

6. 1

I think you should have made more progress by now. It might be the inherent awkwardness of the default controls (which I assume you are using). When I changed from defaults and put all my controls on [asdf, jk, & spacebar] my 40L averages were much better after two weeks. You also have no DAS/ARR upgrades, and should go for at least 2 DAS/3 ARR (ARR past 3 won't matter).

I don't even know if I'm allowed to talk about nullpomino here (first post hi btw), but playing first player modes there and multiplayer on ToP will make you a much better tetris player (assuming your framework is SRS rotation like Tetrisfriends). The reason is every line cleared on TF gives you a 0.5 second penalty, while on these other games there is no line clear delay, so they train you to think much faster. Then when you go back to TF you will feel like you have all the time in the world during line clears to think.