Complete Beginner

Thread in 'Discussion' started by ellemenope, 9 Dec 2007.

1. ellemenope

ellemenope Unregistered

Hello, I just stumbled across this site while searching tetris in google.. I've played tetris for a number of years, going through phases of playing daily, and then not at all. Anyways, I've recently become interested in increasing my skill. I consider myself above-average as a player, but seeing videos online tells me there's a lot I can improve!

Briefly looking through the forums here, I have no idea about much of what is said.. I didn't realize tetris had such an intense following that warranted its own vocabulary!

I've always played my tetris on my old GBC, I believe the version I have is called Tetris DX. Recently I've been playing pretty generic versions online, but I definitely prefer the handheld to the keyboard in terms of playing..

I'm sure you all have lots of tips and advice, is there a beginners thread or anything I can read to learn a bit more about all the complexities of the game?

2. DIGITAL

DIGITAL Unregistered

What game specifically would you like some advice on? There are just so many varieties of tetris and advice differs from one to the other. Or perhaps you're looking for advice on which versions to play?

3. ellemenope

ellemenope Unregistered

Well, I'd like to be able to improve points-wise. I can last for a very long time, but don't seem to accumulate that many points. I realize getting tetris' earns more points, but then I end up with a huge pile waiting for the 4-liner to come and it never does and I end up screwing up.

Also, is Tetris DS recommended? From what I've read here, there seem to be people playing Tetris DS, but I've heard complaints about it from other sources..

4. Tetris DS is the least expensive, and therefore probably the most popular, option for online multiplayer Tetris. The single-player modes get old after a while, though.

5. tepples

tepples Lockjaw developer