Beginners help

Thread in 'Strategy' started by Webby, 28 Apr 2006.

1. I'm fairly new to tetris. Only played the gameboy classic when i was a little boy, but i love the game. Played some TetriNET when a few years ago, but i like tradional mode instead of specials. I bought TDS on US release day, because of the online. I manage to get to around 6000 points, but then i start to lose and go down again. I practive a lot againt CPu on level 4. But beside what i read here:http://www.tetrisconcept.com/old.html (the ten points) what is best to learn. Maybe this topic can be a nice help topic for other beginners.

I started practising skimming and that works already a little, though i sometimes make bad mistakes and close my hole. Also when stacking sometimes i just have a bad design. I can't place a O or L, J. No other blosk available.

Also i started concentrating on clearing garbage by thinking about how to leave certain places open so i won't block the gap, i think this is trivial in multiplay.

Only every move i make requires a thought, i feel myself slowing down sometimes, holding a block while the next block also won't fit not knowing what to do and skipping a fast drop just to make a mistake afterall.

What are good thing to practise for a beginner?

2. my advice-- play for perfection. remove the whole time element from the game, and aim to drop every tetromino perfectly, then think about what makes which option best, and compare your instinct with logic. not only try to find the best placement for each tetromino, but maneuver perfectly as well. use as little movements as possible for each drop, and don't backtrack. think it out before you move. find a strong foundation, then build up from that.

3. I start to develop an instinct for the next to come block, how do i drop my current to free a position for the next. Sometimes it feels natural, but sometimes i takes a lot of thought.