SNES on LCD TVs

Thread in 'Discussion' started by wasmachstdugern, 19 Nov 2016.

1. does the SNES have same kind of lag on LCD TVs that the NES does? thanks!

2. The lag is not dependent on what you plug in your TV but rather on the LCD TV itself.

3. Muf

Muf

Yes. Both the NES and SNES output 256x240 pixels, which modern HDTVs are ill-equipped to handle.

4. great. i am was going to try and show up as a n00b and destroy these guys in denver at SNES vs but now i will have to relearn the speed... lol

5. There is no real speed difference and for SNes vs it should not really matter because input can be quite slow compared to level 18 Nes.

6. I agree with TGGC, for relatively slow speed it shoud not matter.
    I used to play TGM1 on an LCD TV before the eindhoven meeting, so I have some experience making the transition. Playing slowly you probably wont even notice the difference, it is only when you try to play as fast as possible that your timing gets messed up and you start to misdrop more.
    So just play a bit slower than normal during the first hour or so and you'll be fine :)

7. Well, if it's going to be Versus, then I disagree somewhat. Since Tetris + Dr. Mario has diagonal drop, the optimal way is to be holding Down (i.e., forcing Level 19 speed) as often as possible. And, either way, for proper movement you still have to contend with the DAS finesse (involves releasing the d-pad in a 6 frame window to maintain charge for the next piece). Any lag must be adjusted for, lest it shrink that wide timing window into something uncomfortable.