Tetris novice, tspin help

Thread in 'Strategy' started by BulimicCannibal, 24 Jul 2012.

1. I started playing tetris a few days ago, having ignored it in the past because I wasn't very fond of puzzle games and I'm struggling to implement the strategy seen in this link...

http://www.urgametips.com/2012/03/tetris-battle-how-to-perform-double-t.html

I understand the concept but I find myself waiting for crucial pieces only for them not to appear, this results in the left side building up and then I end up getting pieces that won't fit properly on the left side of the screen leaving me the option to either ruin my right/middle line or none fitting blocks on the left.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

2. For one, what Tetris game are you playing it on? If it's not a game that uses 7-bag for the randomiser then the ST setup is pretty unreliable.

You need to make sure that almost all your S and T pieces go into the setup. This means that you also need to be conscious when building the main stack that you're not going to reliably have those pieces at your disposal. It's also better to try and avoid using hold if you can so that you can always have an S/T piece in your hold queue for when you need it. It's also more acceptable to make holes that require I-pieces than it is for normal stacking because you hardly use any of them for clearing lines.

How to form the pattern on the side of the main stack is also something that takes some getting used to. Making the best use of O/Z/L/J pieces can take a bit of getting used to.

Really though, you started playing days ago and ST stacking is a really tough stacking pattern to keep going without messing up. It takes a lot of practice and experience to be able to properly pull off, especially at higher gravity speeds.

3. ST Stacking is tricky. If you started a few days ago, I'd focus on general technique before learning a specialty strategy like this one.