Long Road to GM

Thread in 'Discussion' started by nicofromtokyo, 2 Oct 2011.

1. I would like to collect here some data to get an average of the time needed to become M/GM in TGM-TAP. I know everybody has a different life/schedule/free hours to spend/waste on Tetris, but I'd like to know if it's possible to fix some "official" time periods.

So how long did it take you honestly to become:

-GM at TGM.
    -M at TAP Master.
    -GM at TAP Master.
    -M at TAP Death.
    -GM at TAP Death.

The aim of this thread is not to find out who's got the biggest, but to collect as much as possible data to get closer to something relevant. Of course, if you know approximately how many hours you spent to get these grades, the better it is :) .

Regarding TGM, I would tend to think the fastest you can become GM is 5-6 months, with an average of 10 months while training on a regular basis.

Share your experience !

2. Ai

Ai

I started playing TGM 05-01-2008

- 05-17-2009 (just a little over a year)
    - not yet achieved
    - not yet achieved
    - 02-27-2011
    - not yet achieved

It takes about a year or more for most dedicated players to get Gm. There is however an increasing number of players who have done it in about 6 months or less. Edo was able to get Gm in TGM after only a month of play.

You might also want to have a look at this thread which is a little similar. And here's some data from the tetrisconcept community concerning TGM that was gathered by colour_thief. Someone should have kept track of these stats. It will be a real pain now to try and continue this tradition. ^^

EDIT: