Being a Competitive Player

Thread in 'Discussion' started by milkolate, 16 Feb 2009.

1. I currently find that I have a lot of free time in my hands so I have decided to learn how to be a competitive Tetris player. The only version of Tetris that I have played is the Gameboy version. So I'm pretty much a clean slate.

1. How do I start? Which version should I use for "training"? I have an emulator with Tetris loaded (since I still own the original cart, but my Gameboy is busted). So basically I only have a PC with me. But I do plan to buy a DS Lite within the year.

2. How do I train? Aside from practicing a lot, what specific points should I practice for?

Thanks a lot!

2. m:)

m:) Unregistered

im by no means a pro..
    but i say checkout heboris and texmaster that you can find on this site.

those games are both epic fun and insanely hard compared to the slandered issue western tetris

tgm is great..

if your looking for battle tetris.. dunno maybe something else maybe not.

3. Amnesia

Amnesia Piece of Cake

I hope you REALLY have a lot of free time AND motivation..There is many style of "competitif player"..

Maybe you wish develop a strong technical ability, in this case, search for TGM1 and TGM2.

Otherwise, you can go for a fast and agressive style, you could play lockjaw for his famous 40 lines burst challenge, or choose Heboris to have the TGM3 clone which is more optimised for fluid and fast styles, and a bit less technicaly boring than the 2 first TGM..

PS : ignore those who talk to you about "texmaster"..This fucking game is hard to configure and very stressing to play, you will have more fun in playing Heboris.

PS2 : PM me if you want me to introduce to these games and give you links, because I understand your position of GB player who never knew any of these complicated Tetris game..and even me sometime, I can not find what I want on this forum.