TGM Beginner Advice

Thread in 'Strategy' started by Gunlag, 12 Jan 2015.

1. Hello! Starting playing a few days ago after watching the amazing ADGQ runs.

I need some advice on a wall I've hit. Right now, I can't break the 299 barrier, and have only maxed out rank 1. I can get to it about 70 percent of the time. When I get to 1g, I start having issues because I spend most of my time getting there and am not particularly used to what I can and cannot do rotation wise at that point.

Should I play nullpomino and start at a higher level and just practice getting comfortable with that? Or, is it a natural barrier that I will overcome just by playing more since I'm really new? Also, when should you start to pyramid stack?

Any advice is helpful! That's a ton!

2. I’m not an expert into strategies, or into advices even, but if I can give at least a very general advice, well…

The best way to break a wall, except having fun (I’ll never say that enough =p), is to have a fresh mind to briefly think about what you’re going to do after every piece. After all, it’s a puzzle game, so even at higher levels thinking hard can get you to the top.

And once you’ve found the solutions to the problems, the only thing left to do is to assimilate them and use them in fast speed. It’s going to be rewarding to get to the S ranks o/

3. AGDQ I ment :p

4. Few things (from a non GM, but competitive gamer):

read the guides published here and here
    Don't only read them once, but come back to them often. Study them.

Play slow and deliberately, find out what works and what does not.
    Play fast and hard and see where you break down.

Watch your replays. Find your mistakes at all levels, what you do when you're playing on "instinct", what you're doing when you choke, etc
    Watching replays of yourself is very important, it's like getting an outside look at your game.